Goran Končar | The Japan Tour 2016
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-15470,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_hidden,vertical_menu_hidden_with_logo, vertical_menu_width_400,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

The Japan Tour 2016

The famous Croatian violinist Goran Končar will in May go on tour in Japan, where he will give concerts in some of the most prestigious concert halls in Kamakura (Shogai Gakushu Centre), Tochigi (Oyama Shiritsu Bunka Centre) and in Tokyo (Sumida Triphony Hall). He will perform with Japanese pianists Mayumi Iwanami, Sadakatsu Tsuchida, Junko Iwashita and Tomohiro Adachi. The repertoire to be performed in concerts includes the widest range of compositions by J. S. Bach, L. van Beethoven, P. I. Tchaikovsky, A. Dvorak, F. Mendelssohn, C. Franck, J. Massenet, P. Sarasate and F. Kreisler.
So many different programs in one tour is a huge challenge for any artist, and this especially holds for the final concert in Tokyo organized by the Japanese and Croatian companies, where he will perform all the violin works by Croatian composer Dora Pejačević. Since such a program has never been performed even in Croatia, let alone outside the country, this is a great opportunity not only for the presentation of Croatian musicians in Japan, but of Croatian music and art in general.

The program of the concert on May 8, Tokyo


Goran Končar, violin,
Tomohiro Adachi, piano


Rêverie for Violin and Piano, Op. 3, (1897)
Canzonetta for Violin and Piano in D Major, Op. 8 (1899), the first published composition by Dora Pejačević, dedicated to Stefi Geyer
Menuett for Violin and Piano in A Major, Op. 18, (1904), dedicated to Jaroslav Kocian
Romanze for Violin and Piano in F Major, Op. 22, (1907)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in D Major, Op. 26 Spring Sonata (1909).
Elegie for Violin and Piano in E-flat major, op. 34 (191), dedicated to Johannes Nádherný-Borutin
Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor, op. 43 Slavic Sonata (1917), dedicated to Zlatko Baloković
Meditation for violin and piano op. 51 (1919) dedicated to Viteszlav Novak

Following the announcement of the concert program Goran Končar will also hold master classes in Tokyo, where he will present the LAUS Academy Dubrovnik, which has over the past decade reached recognition not only in Europe but also beyond. He will also give experimental concerts playing on several extremely valuable instruments from the collection of the Foundation Nippon Violin Dr. Muneyuki Nakazawa.